Meet the Mom Behind the Brilliant Pinterest Board My Imaginary Well-Dressed Toddler Daughter

Have you met Quinoa? She loves Chanel, twirling, perfect lighting, and juxtaposition.
MIWDD
MIWDD2 MIWDD3
Tiffanymiwdd2Meet Tiffany Beveridge the brilliant mama behind the incredibly creative and hilarious
Tiffany was kind enough to answer some questions about how Quinoa came to be.
Q1. When was  My Imaginary Well-Dressed Toddler Daughter, Quinoa born?
I started the Pinterest board over a year ago. It only started gaining real attention in the last 24 hours! I guess everything previous was my special alone time with Quinoa before I had to share her with others. 
Q2. What inspired you to create this incredibly creative board?
Honestly, it started very organically. I have two sons who couldn’t care less what they wear. I kept seeing cute things on Pinterest for girls, but felt I had no claim to them. Then I thought, why not? So I named the board for my imaginary daughter and started re-pinning clothes from friends that I thought were cute and fun. It was when I went out searching for little girl clothes on Pinterest myself that I found the over-the-top photos and looks. And then I guess my sense of humor got the better of me.
I mean, come on, if I’m going to spend time dressing an imaginary daughter on Pinterest, why not go all the way? 
It was also around the time that quinoa (the grain) was hi-jacking Pinterest. I felt I could barely scroll through a page without 12 new quinoa recipes (that were deemed THE! BEST! EVER!), and I remember thinking how funny it was that a grain had become trendy. Like, so trendy somebody was probably going to name their kid Quinoa. (And then I probably gave an evil chuckle and started pinning.) I guess you can see where things went from there.
Q3. The images and the copy are so brilliant ~ how much time do you spend  finding the images and writing?
Actually, very little time. Every now and then when I’m prowling Pinterest for pleasure (and not work), I’ll see if I can find any new images. I’ll scroll through a bunch and then I’ll see Quinoa just screaming at me from one. 
Q4. When you are not Pinning for Quinoa what are you doing?
I’m a freelance copywriter in the greater Philadelphia area. I blog three times per week for Mrs. Fields in addition to agency work and some proofreading and editing. I also have my boys and husband and we like to spend a lot of time together doing a lot of male-centric things like watching sports and screaming at the TV while watching sports. Sometimes I have to escape and watch an hour of The Real Housewives just to get my estrogen levels up to normal again.
 Q5. You have inspired countless others (http://pinterest.com/search/boards/?q=imaginary+daughter) any advice for them?
Oh my. I had no idea. While I believe in boundaries and limits for real children, I say give those imaginary darlings anything they want! And of course, don’t take yourself too seriously. *Wink.*
Tiffany THANK YOU for creating such a brilliant and imaginative board.
I can’t wait to see more adventures of Quinoa and her BFF Chevron.
Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Meet the Mom Behind the Brilliant Pinterest Board My Imaginary Well-Dressed Toddler Daughter

  1. Amy Vernon (@AmyVernon) June 19, 2013 at 8:58 am Reply

    I love Quinoa – and Tiffany’s voice. I seriously laughed out loud at a lot of the pins. I need to try to track down what set off the avalanche of attention this week – it’s fascinating to see what causes truly organic attention on things like this. And proves that Pinterest is about the long run.

  2. Kelly Lieberman June 19, 2013 at 9:29 am Reply

    Amy ~ Tiffany is such a talented writer ~ completely drew me in. I could not stop reading or laughing and cannot wait to see MORE! So incredible to know the power of Pinterest ~ she created the board a year ago! Can’t wait to hear what caused the avalanche of awareness.

  3. viridiansoul July 10, 2013 at 5:48 pm Reply

    My “imaginary daughter” pinboard is called My Future Girl. Unfortunately, it’s nowhere near as full of stuff as some of my other boards…or Quinoa’s board. Time to start working on My Future Girl. :P

    • Kelly Lieberman July 15, 2013 at 7:15 am Reply

      Love that idea “Future Gir” – Enjoy Pinning for her!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,509 other followers

